Project Partners

on .

To ensure sustainability and ownership, the proposed action will be implemented in close collaboration with state actors. All the Ministries and related services that intervene at the interface (Ministries responsible for agriculture, livestock, environment, wildlife, land, etc.) are involved in the planning, implementation and monitoring of the proposed action. Issues to be addressed by the action fall within two or more line ministries of the 12 countries involved in the Project (Senegal, Mali, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Niger, Benin, Chad, Cameroon, Nigeria, Kenya, Sudan, and Uganda). Collaboration across existing governance (administrative) systems, which is necessary for the implementation of the action, strengthen the integration of environmental concerns into the development agenda both at local, national and regional levels. They are part of the Project's National Steering Committee chaired by the ministry where the Project center of gravity falls.

The Regional Economic Communities (RECs), as building blocks of the African Union, form the regional level for planning, coordination, and monitoring of the integration process. To this end the RECs, through their technical units, will coordinate and facilitate the implementation and reporting of project. The RECs will also have the primary responsibility for seeking the full participation of all regional stakeholders in the planning and implementation stages of the project. The following four RECs are involved in the Project:

The Central and West Africa Programme of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN-PACO) is a leading international nature conservation organisation. It has a long tradition of supporting the RECs (ECOWAS, ECCAS, EAC, WAEMU, etc.) in developing pro-environmental economic policies in relation with ecosystems management, forests, water resources, protected areas and appropriate environmental governance. Recently, it has contributed to the finalization of the ECOWAS Regional Agriculture Investment Programme (RAIP) to ensure that sound environmental management is taken into account through the ecosystem approach. It has also developed partnership with AU-IBAR during the implementation of Dryland Livestock Wildlife Environment Interface Project (DLWEIP). Its technical expertise on ecosystems approach and collaboration experiences with the RECs will be helpful in achieving the results and outputs of the project.

The African Wildlife Foundation (AWF), a leading international wildlife conservation organisation, focused solely on Africa and having been active for over forty-five years, will bring on board its strength in the provision of expertise on wildlife and community conservation initiatives.

Vétérinaires sans Frontières Belgium (VSF-Belgium) is an non-governmental organisation (NGO) founded in 1995 working with disadvantaged communities to increase their standard of living and improve food security through improved animal health and animal production. VSF-Belgium is a Belgian NGO which carries out projects in Africa in order to improve the cattle breeding conditions. Belgium carries out projects in 8 African countries: Burkina Faso, Niger, Mali, Kenya, Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of Congo. Certain projects are cross-border: they are carried out by several countries and/or in collaboration with other international organisations. VSF-Belgium primarily operates in the regions affected by drought and conflict.

Created in 1989, the Association pour la Promotion du développement de l'Elevage au Sahel et en Savane's (APESS) activities today cover 12 African countries involving about 15,000 members. Its mission is to support livestock activities and traditional livestock breeders to encourage a change in mentalities and practices. APESS operates through three Regional Information and Training Centres (CRIFA) based in Dori (Burkina Faso), Thiès (Senegal) and Garoua (Cameroon). Countries covered are: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, Gambia (the), Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria and Senegal.

The Central African Economic Commission for Livestock, Meat and Fisheries Resources (CEBEVIRHA) was founded in 1987. It is a specialized agency of the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC), in charge of managing livestock and fisheries. Its mission is to develop quantitatively and qualitatively the livestock and fisheries sectors, develop and harmonize trade, harmonise and coordinate policies on farming and fishing contained in development plans of member states and organise training.